Catholic · community · Faith

St. Genesius: patron saint of actors and actresses 

Today is the feast day of St. Genesius! He was an actor in the 3rd century.

The story goes that St. Genesius was in a play for the emperor, making fun of Christianity. He played the part of the cstechumen, who was about to be baptized, and miraculously was converted right there on the stage. The emperor was obviously not too happy and when Genesius refused to sacrifice to the gods, he was promptly beheaded. 

While the legend goes back centuries, I think that all actors, actresses, and patrons of the arts can recognize that God works through our own creativity. I participated in several productions in high school and college, and theatre will always have a special place in my heart!

Have you ever been or are you currently an actor? Have you seen God within your shows and/or within your acting community?

​Saint Genesius, pray for us!

4 thoughts on “St. Genesius: patron saint of actors and actresses 

  1. I had no idea there was a patron for actors/actresses. Thank you so much for sharing. Finding these great saints is awesome!

    Like

  2. I was an actor in school and studied drama in college. Although I never did any acting professionally, I look at my career teaching fitness in front of large groups as acting.

    Like

Leave a comment