Catholic

There’s a Word for That?

A great post by a great friend… If you can’t define the word “sonder,” read this and add it to your vocabulary!

from padua hall

Recently, a friend of mine shared a picture on social media. It was a list of “words” that described things people often feel, but do not know what to call that feeling. It was the first entry that caught my attention.

“Sonder: The realization that each passerby has a life as vivid and complex as your own.”

My initial reaction was, “there’s a word for that?!” I was unfamiliar with this term, but the experience it described was one that I have been through with some frequency. It most commonly happens to me while stopped at red lights. Sitting there in my car at a four-way intersection on my way to work, the grocery store, or wherever, I look around and see so many other people. I do not know where they are going, or who they are, or anything about them. Regardless of this lack of information, I find…

View original post 173 more words

Leave a Reply

