101 Things · Challenges and Series · ROW80 · SeptNoWriMo · writing

Side-tracked by goal-setting

Procrastination at its finest, ladies and gents: getting too distracted in other goals that I don’t bother to work on the ones already under my belt.

While browsing my Reader, I came across the Day Zero Project: 101 Things in 1001 Days, and I thought, that’s PERFECT (here’s my profile, if you’re interested in seeing what the site looks like from that side)! It’s like a ROW80 party, but long-term! So I signed up and started doing some goal-setting.

It’s actually super difficult to make a list of 101 goals. I got stuck at around 60, but I pushed through and finished my list, three days into the event. Close enough.

I put all my goals on a separate page here so I can update them as I go.

And, because of all my playing on that site, I neglected a few other goals. Here’s my roundup so far:

  • Blogging. One substantial blog post per week. I posted about day one of noveling and self-doubt, and I created a page for my 101 Goals.
  • Drawing. One to three posted, per week. One down: my drawing inception: a drawing of myself, drawing. Maybe another tonight before supper?
  • Writing. Share my World Youth Day experience through a series of themed essays: 2 per week. Nope, ran out of time. To be resumed this coming week.
  • Resting. Taking a day off per week and not getting hung up on things like stats and publicity. Turns out Tuesday was my rest day… again! And then we went Halibut fishing on Friday, and then the weekend. Resting became laziness this week, friends. It’s all about finding the balance…
  • Complete my most recent novel draft:
    • Schedule writing time for the duration of September. Done! Thank you, Google Calendar.
    • Begin writing for SeptNoWriMo… This week, I wrote 6500 words. Not bad!
    • New goal: boost writing speed. I listened to a podcast about a guy who can do 5,000 words per hour, and I’m taking some of his tips to heart to see if I can bump up my speed this month. Mostly, I’m doing this through tracking my WPH (words per hour) speed and by doing word sprints of anywhere from 5 to 25 minutes each. If I really apply myself, I can currently do a bit over 1,000 words in a half an hour (not the best writing I’ve ever done, but close enough to move the story along).
  • Personal sub-goal: schedule prayer time, too. Yes! I’m doing a “Scripture Writing Challenge,” because that method of prayer helps keep me focused. Check it out here. It’s still going well, though I took a pair of days off. Will resume the writing after the holiday; in the meantime, I’ll do some other prayer methods with my husband.

That’s all for today, folks! More to come next week!

 

10 thoughts on “Side-tracked by goal-setting

  1. I call it “resting” and ‘simmering” rather than “laziness.” Something I learned while shifting from being a tyrannical mother to a partnering one is that word matter. Calling myself lazy when I’m transitioning from one project or method to another, or absorbing big things that my shift my awareness, isn’t fair. I can’t be at my most productive all the time; that leaves little space for musing, reflecting, imagining, learning, and growing. Those things don’t show well on goals lists, but they’re vitally important to all the things that do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

