ROW80 · writing

A round of words in… 40 days?

I used to do ROW80 (a Round of Words in 80 Days), back when I was blogging regularly. And now I want to get back on the ROW80 bandwagon. 

Why? For the community, and exploration, and the personal accountability to really get this blog moving again.

So I hope you don’t mind if I hop in at the midway point. ROW40, for me, it seems.

Here are my goals for these next 40 days:

  1. Blogging. One substantial blog post per week.
  2. Drawing. Three drawings, posted, per week.
  3. Writing. Share my World Youth Day experience through a series of themed essays (1-2 pages, typed or hand written): 2 per week.
  4. Resting. Taking a day off per week and not getting hung up on things like stats and publicity; while it’s nice to share, blogging is my own personal expression and exploration that’s not dependent on others reading.

    As the summer winds down and the fall semester gears up, I’m hoping to find that balance between blogging/creativity aspirations and reality. I might miss a day or two, but it’s worth a shot! 

    It’s definitely worth it: every bit if creativity is one step closer to developing my artistic abilities. If not now, then when? If not here, then where?

    How do you stay motivated?โ€‹

    8 thoughts on “A round of words in… 40 days?

    1. Welcome back to ROW80! Great goals!

      I try to keep my eyes on the big picture — what I’m trying to accomplish. It also helps that I just turned 40 and I feel like time is running out (40 is not old by any means…but tell that to my Inner Slave Driver! She always thinks time’s running out). And if all else fails, I keep plugging away anyway. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      1. Thanks! And I agree about the big goals part… I’ve been trying to narrow that down for my blog for a while now. Making progress, slowly but surely. And goodness, 40 isn’t “time running out” age yet… but shoot, any little bit for motivation! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

    2. I always forget the awesome goals like resting. It’s so important and so, so easy to forget about.

      Blogging vs. reality is a really difficult balance to maintain for me. I have made some good buddies online and I don’t want to neglect them any more than I’d want to neglect my real life friends, but boy. Finding the time can be tricky.

      And now I have this song in my head. ๐Ÿ™‚ No complaints.

      Like

    3. My approach is to do what I love. That doesn’t take motivation! And, for those things I don’t so much enjoy, like homeschool paperwork, I remind myself of what I gain by wading through the administrative details that aren’t, of themselves, even a little bit interesting.

      I hope things work out better than you hoped! Welcome to the final 40!

      Like

    Leave a Reply

    