Broken and Beautiful · community · Creativity · Faith · Ministry · writing

One Wild Venture

I havent posted a single thing to this blog in almost a year. So why now? Why today?

Pope Saint John Paul II. And here’s the backstory.

Facebook’s timehop feature reminded me of a picture I’d drawn in 2008, and shared to Facebook in 2011…

Pardon the picture’s quality. I’m an artist, not a photographer. 😉

It’s a colored pencil enlargement of a stained glass window picture of Our Lady of Czestochowa and (now Saint) Pope John Paul II.

The part that blew my mind was that just 2 weeks ago, I traveled to Poland for World Youth Day and saw both Our Lady of Czestochowa’s shrine and John Paul II’s hometown, Wadowice, along with his home parish and his house-turned-museum.

Who knew?!

I was reminded of the quote by JPII that has sort of been my motto throughout this blog:

“Artistic talent is a gift from God and whoever discovers it in himself has a certain obligation: to know that he cannot waste this talent, but must develop it.” -Pope Saint John Paul II

And I’ve been on WordPress quite a bit in the past 4 months, building a blog for our parish’s Youth Ministry program.  But I’ve not blogged on this site for nearly a year, after its beginnings in October 2014… not even because I’ve been that busy; mostly because I’ve been lazy.

There, I said it. I’ve been a lazy bum in my art life, and in my prayer life.

As JPII says, it’s our obligation to develop artistic talent, if we have it. Not an option, not a fun hobby. An obligation!, to develop the gift God has given us.

I wasn’t a half-bad artist when I was 16! But what have I done in the past 6 months? Maybe 2 sketches, and a handful of journal pages. So much for sharing my gifts.

So my challenge to myself is to develop my artistic talents… and to use this blog as an incentive. Will I post every day? Probably not. But shall I post more often than I currently do? Fingers crossed.

When I was in Wadowice, I felt a deep connection to JPII: his spirit, his adventure, his acceptance of the challenge to live the Christian life. And I said to him, “JPII, will you be my spiritual grandpa?”

And I imagine he says yes.

May I live as he did: fully, with compassion, with love.

Do you have an “artistic talent?” How are you being called to develop it?

4 thoughts on “One Wild Venture

Leave a Reply

