Everything Else · Faith

Living Simply

I wanted to title this post “Wardrobe Reduction,” but it was too narrow of a title, and reminded me of plastic surgery for some reason. Gross.

The moral of the story is this: because of the upcoming move, I will be getting rid of (or at least packing away) a lot of things, and am living off of very little.

Just yesterday I went through my entire wardrobe. It was huge, I am ashamed to admit. Nearly twice the size of my husband’s, but then again, that doesn’t really say much.

After sorting and packing, this is what I’ve resigned myself to live on: 4 dress shirts for work, 3 tees for free time, 2 pajama pants, 2 slacks, 2 jeans, 2 khakis, 2 coats, 3 jackets. And that’s it!

The rest of my life needs to be simplified too. I need to decide what to send with the movers, and what few precious things I need to keep with me.

Clothes, laptop, sleeping bag just in case. A book. Toiletries. The hardest part will be choosing art supplies.

I don’t have just one art kit, I have all kinds of supplies and notebooks! I don’t know how to decide. That’s on my agenda for tonight, though, or maybe tomorrow.

This whole simplifying thing is both relaxing and strenuous. All the what-ifs come into my head… what if I need this? What if I should have packed that?
Around and round we go. It’s a lesson in patience. I hope I have the ability and the nerves to accept it.

If you had one little tote to keep your next several week’s art / writing supplies in, which things could you never live without?

One thought on “Living Simply

  1. Good for you! I love clothes so it would be really hard for me to reduce my wardrobe. I’m glad you feel better for doing that.

    I don’t have art or writing supplies, so I wouldn’t know where to start with that. Hope it works out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

