A to Z Challenge · Camp Nanowrimo

A to Z Challenge: Theme Reveal

Because I only began this blog in October, I’ve not had the pleasure of experiencing an April A to Z Challenge (www.a-to-zchallenge.com/), though I’ve heard a lot about it. Since today is theme reveal day, I wanted to jump on the bandwagon and share mine too:

Character Development!

Every day (except Sundays), I’ll post two things: first, an aspect to consider for your more fully developing your characters; and second, a couple random sample character traits that fit the day’s description.

I’m going to merge this challenge with Camp Nanowrimo (campnanowrimo.org/), at least loosely. Last April, I started a dystopian novel, but ran out of time before I finished it (alas, college got in the way). It’s my favorite piece of writing, but it’s still incomplete. I want to use my own character development ideas to work with my own characters, and use my characters to help solidify my character development ideas.

In other news, I’ll be moving for the first time in April, so Lord knows if I’ll manage to multitask this heavily. But I’ll try. It’s a fun idea, anyway.

24 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: Theme Reveal

  1. Great theme! I ran across another blogger who is doing something similar with character development. Each blog post is a short story of sorts of one of the characters he is writing about (dialogue, a random event, a day in the life of, etc.). A great idea to help with character development, you can use the short stories/blurbs later on in longer pieces of fiction!

    So glad I came across your blog! I look forward to following you next month and reading more! 🙂

    Like

    1. Awesome! One thing I like about A-to-Z is that I’m discovering lots of other similar blogs I never knew existed. If you happen to find a link to the other character development blogger(s), definitely let me know! Best of luck!

      Like

  2. Sounds like an interesting theme! Moves are always fun (13 moves in 26 years we’ve done, LOL). It eventually does come all together, but its always a bit stressful the first few days around it! Enjoy the challenge and your new place you are moving to!

    betty

    Like

    1. WOW. 13 moves in 26 years. That’s exhausting. This is my first real move, but beyond the hassle of packing and a million pieces of paperwork, I’m excited. It will all work out in the end, I’m sure. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. Hi! I found your blog through the A to Z Challenge list. I’m really looking forward to seeing how you carry the theme throughout the month. I love that you’re tying it in to your Camp project. I’m crazy enough to be doing the challenge on 2 blogs plus doing a separate Camp story. Here’s hoping some bit of sanity remains once the month is over! Good luck to you, and have fun! 🙂

    Like

  4. Fabulous idea! Combining two big events is a brilliant plan. I see that you are planning to move during the month of April. I don’t envy you. I imagine you are good at multitasking. I wish you the very best. I am looking forward to reading your blog and learning more about developing good, fictional character traits. Good luck with the novel you began last year. I know, only too much, how life gets in the way of our good intentions and hopes of finishing our novels. I have a feeling that you can do just about anything you set your mind to. Good luck finishing your novel. I will be back next week.

    I am having a little mystery game for my crime fiction theme. There will be weekly prizes for solving daily clues and a grand prize at the end of April for solving the big crime. I hope you will stop by.

    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Thanks for your very kind comment! I don’t know that I’m quite the multitasker I seem to be, but practice makes perfect, right? I will definitely stop by to see what you have going on over at your blog too. Best of luck on your April and beyond! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

