Broken and Beautiful · Creativity · Faith

My Whole Life

I could spend my whole life
worrying about tomorrow.
I could research and write,
burrow my head in the sand,
and pretend there are no problems.

I could spend my whole life
thinking about praying
and never actually doing it.
I could learn about God
but never actually get to know him.

I could spend my whole life
standing on the sidelines,
just on the edge of the sea,
scared of getting my toes wet
and never knowing what it is to swim.

I could spend my whole life
holding my breath
and never know what it is to sing,
stilling my heart
and never know what it is to dance.

But today, I am stepping beyond that.

I will spend my whole life
trusting when I fear,
dancing even if I fall,
singing even when the only song I know
is a song of sorrow.
My life is a sacrifice.

I will spend my whole life
giving it away.
I will no longer wonder
what God thinks of me
because I will spend my whole life
knowing him,
loving him,
serving him.

I will spend my whole life,
because he first spent his
to save me.

Leave a Reply

