Creativity · Faith · Lent

Mid-Lent Slouch

This seems to always happen in Lent: a midway slump. I start off all excited about the prospects (with quite a bit of disillusionment, I admit), and then, a couple of weeks in, it hits.

When things don’t go quite like I imagined, I lose steam and I end up standing in the middle of Lent, wondering how I can possibly salvage the rest of these 40 days, if there’s any hope left.

And then the excuses pile in. It’s been a weird week. Three snow days and a lot of babysitting left me all worn out.

I spent a lot of time recently working on preparing for that job interview I was hoping for… alas, it wasn’t meant to be. The good news is that it gives me more time to prepare for our move. Which, of course, also occurs right in the middle of Lent.

And if you’re anything like me, you might try to patch things up… but have no idea where to begin. Change my Lenten promises? Get new ones? Try something different? Pray harder?

For me, the first thing to go is my creativity,  and I think that’s half the problem. When I squelch my creative time, I somehow also squelch my voice, my passion. Everything dries up and I run out of enthusiasm. And here we are.

So how do I get out of the mid-Lent slouch? I change my heart. I need to learn to treat my creativity time like it deserves to be treated: as a gift from God. It’s a gift that needs to be cultivated. My hope is to start blogging twice a week. I’ve got to break back into my creative cycle somehow. It’s the best way I know to reach out to God and to others.

How do you break the cycle of over-stated promises and ideals? What do you do to get rid of burnout? How do you pick up the pieces of a shattered dream and start again? I create. What do you do?

Leave a Reply

