Faith · Lent

Ash Wednesday

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I want to spend this Lent living intentionally. Rather than just skipping out on snacks or giving up the snooze button, I want to focus on WHY I’m doing the things I’m doing. I’ll still be skipping snacks and waking up on my first go without the snooze button, but even before that, I want to look outward.

I’m creating a series of Lenten reflections based on the Five-Finger prayer. Some people attribute it to Pope Francis, but I’m pretty sure it existed before him. Here’s a quick look:

image
Source: http://iowakofc.org/m/photo?id=6455245%3APhoto%3A23324

I’m going to spend one week, starting Sunday, on each finger, and close with additional reflections for Holy Week. I’ll post daily reflections, but they’re mostly just suggestions, not written in stone. If you happen to find one you like, by all means, use it.

Today’s reflection is simple:

What are you doing for Lent? Spend some time today, if you haven’t already, thinking about what God might like you to change in your life over the next 40 days. For me, there also has to be an accountability part to it, so I’m telling you all what my plans are, as seen above.

And go get ashed. Remember that you are dust, and to dust you shall return.

2 thoughts on “Ash Wednesday

  1. I really like that Five Finger Prayer guide! Very helpful.

    Also, I like that you’re not giving up anything or just doing good deeds, because to me those are easy and don’t require too much thinking (in the former, it’s just a matter of constraint). But if you add intent to those, then you’ll get to learn more about yourself and why you do what you do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

