community · Creativity

Plot Tangles and Ostriches

Because both of these things are on my mind today.

image

The first: plot tangles. I’m sort of at a lull with my daily shorts, mostly because I’ve used up all my data for the month and I have no access to WiFi at home. Awkward.

However, I did pull out a story I started for April Nanowrimo last year. I never finished it because I ended up having to move up my wedding date and it got put on the back-burner… priorities, right?… and I pulled it out this weekend, on a whim.

You know that feeling when you look back on something you wrote, and cringe? Yeah, I get that feeling a lot.

But not about this one.

I really like this little story, and I want to finish it. This might be the first one I submit for publication. There’s just one problem: I have a plot tangle I can’t seem to unravel.

I made a building disappear, on a whim. But even I don’t know where it went, or how to get it back. But it was so clever! …but it killed my creativity.

I think I found a way around it. So I think I’m going to start back up on it again. It’s been sitting in an old dusty computer file for almost a year now, but I think it’s aged very well. I have a lot more to say now!

I’m trying to decide whether or not to post excerpts here. Would you care one way or another? Maybe it would be better to do when I get closer to promo time. If you have any suggestions, I’ll definitely take them. Newbie here.

So that’s my new / old project I want to kick back in gear. Assuming I get past the plot tangle.

Oh, right. My other point. Ostriches.

I think I’m like an ostrich, when it comes to certain events. Like conflict. I’m thoroughly content to bury my head in the sand and pretend like nothing’s wrong. Poor reaction. Something I need to work on.

Or, when it comes to cleaning my poor car. This guy is covered in salt and dust… and crappy attempts to wash the windows at the gas station that just made it worse. It’s cold, so I don’t want to wash it at home, and I have a principle against car washes. That’s taking the lazy way out. Almost as lazy as not washing it at all.

In all seriousness, though, I’ll be back to regular blogging soon, I hope. Most of the crazy at work has died down. I can breathe for the first time since October. Let’s hope it keeps up.

Leave a Reply

