Creation365 · Creativity

Creation365: Day 19

image

As a daughter of a long line of farmers, there’s something I want to say. A couple of things, in fact. I think there are a lot of stereotypes against grain farmers, but I want to set you straight.

First of all, not all farmers are old men in old rickety machinery. I come from a community of farmers, and we all do the same things in the same seasons. We all celebrate when the crops come in, and we worry when the weather doesn’t cooperate. There’s no two ways about it: our lives depend on Mother Nature, and we do our best to respect her and keep her happy.

Also, in case you haven’t noticed, we have pride. No two ways about it. You can bet we’ve earned our second beer after a long day of tilling and planting, and you can bet we will be up at 4:30am the next day to do it all over again. Another round. Another round. There’s no off-season, because we’re always planning for the next year’s crops, but that’s all right, because we love what we do. And yes, we’ve been doing these kinds of farming things since we were old enough to carry a bucket.

This is why we love it: there’s nothing like an early morning cup of coffee in the early morning, through the stillness of the world, while it’s quiet for a little while. It’s a part of the world that everyone should get to see, but most of us take for granted. As the sun comes up, we’re already kicking up dust and getting work done.

You see, there are few things more rewarding than a good day’s work. By the sweat of my brow and the ache of my back, I earn my keep, and that’s the way things ought to be. You do the best you can with what you’ve got, and everything else will fall into place. It always does.

I’m leaving the farm this week, to go away to a boarding school, grow my education, face the world and everything it has to offer me. But I’ll never forget the place I came from, and I’ll probably come back. I am so proud of my lineage, my familiy, my community.

To all you farmers out there: thank you for everything you do.

image

Source: This blog series is inspired by the book “Earth from Above: 365 Days” by Yann Arthus-Bertrand. Click here to read more about my Creation365 series.

The top picture is from “Greece. Lassithi region of Crete. Peasant plowing his field.”

Arthus-Bertrand, Yann, Isabelle Delannoy, and Christian Balmes. 2005. The Earth from above: 365 days. New York: Harry N. Abrams.

Leave a Reply

