Creation365 · Creativity

Creation365: Day 4

image

No, I don’t work with cows, and no, I’m not male, but I’d still consider myself a cowboy, and you’re just going to have to deal with it.

Look. Here’s the deal. I herd goats, okay? They might not be as big as cows, but they’re a lot smaller and faster, and they can be at least as stubborn (not that I’ve ever tried to herd cows, but you get what I mean).

And yes, I suppose it is a little unusual for a woman to herd any kind of animal, cows or otherwise. If you can call me a woman, anyway. I’m only 17, but I know plenty of “women” younger than me with several children, so let’s cut the idealism and deal with reality, all right?

The point I’m trying to make to you is that I’ve earned this title, cowboy, and nobody can take that from me. I stay up for more hours than you do, that’s for sure, and some days I can peel the layers of sweat and dust and grime off my skin. I ride a horse all day, spend my time rounding up the stragglers and driving the herd forward, always forward, towards greener pastures. That’s assuming there is such a thing as a green pasture in the desert. I’ve been bitten by snakes twice now, and warded off more than my share of predators under the cover of darkness.

Sure I’m young, sure I’m a girl, but I’ve earnedd my place here. The men know that; they know bettter than to mess with me. All that sweet-talking, butter-me-up crap doesn’t work on this girl. You pull your own weight, stay out of my way, run the goats proper, and then I might give you a second glance. A girl like me don’t have the time for boys who want to play games. I’ve got a herd to run, a family back home who’s waiting for me. You help me, or you get yourself out of my way.

image

*Source: This blog series is inspired by the book “Earth from Above: 365 Days” by Yann Arthus-Bertrand. Click here to read more about my Creation365 series.

The top picture is from “Djibouti. Flock of goats among the rock stacks of Lake Abbe.”

Arthus-Bertrand, Yann, Isabelle Delannoy, and Christian Balmes. 2005. The Earth from above: 365 days. New York: Harry N. Abrams.

Leave a Reply

