Creation365 · Creativity

Creation365: Day 2

image

They come for the green- the tourists, that is. They say there are places where it’s cold and snow and ice all the time, but I can hardly imagine a world of white when I’ve only ever lived in tropics. I can hardly imagine a world without luscious leaves and deep brown earth.

Of course, there are other colors too: frogs and birds of every color, brilliant silver fish in the lake where we fish. But even the water’s not blue like you’d expect. Even the water is alive with tiny lime algae and organisms. They part and leave a murky grey trail wherever the boat goes, swirling and dancing on the surface, rippling to make the unseen current visible.

I can’t imagine a world without color, or warmth, or the deep shadows of emerald in the forest. But still it calls to me, the clear cool evening breeze. Come see the colors, it whispers to me, the desert tans and the pearly white crystals, the deep blues and the burning reds.

Someday I will see a different sky, I imagine: the same blue, with a fresh contrast of earth. But for today, in the humidity of mid-afternoon, I am here, in the sweeping greens of the jungle, and I am vibrant. I am every color of the rainbow, from the darkest red to the deepest indigo: I am alive.

Note: If you enjoyed this story, I challenge you to do what I did: a short story with the topic of your choice, but use a color word in every sentence. I did. Did you notice?

If you do take this challenge, comment and share a link to your blog- I’d love to read it!

*Source: This blog series is inspired by the book “Earth from Above: 365 Days” by Yann Arthus-Bertrand. Click here to read more about my Creation series.

The top picture is from “Honduras. San Pedro Sula Region. Lagoon near Lake Los Micos.”

Arthus-Bertrand, Yann, Isabelle Delannoy, and Christian Balmes. 2005. The Earth from above: 365 days. New York: Harry N. Abrams.

Leave a Reply

