Blogging101 · community · Creativity · Millennials

Blogging: a show-and-tell where everyone is interested

image

Just recently, I was telling my husband (probably for the fifth or sixth time) why I loved blogging so much.

He rolled his eyes, because he knows how much I like to repeat myself. I tod him that it didn’t matter what creative kick I got onto… writing, drawing, crochet, paracord, etc… I could always blog about it.

I told him it was kind of like show-in-tell in elementary school: on this blog, I can share my creative projects and that the only people who are reading my blog are the same people who are interested in creatives. So that works out well.

He summed it up perfectly in this phrase: if my blogging is like show-and-tell, “the class is always interested.” He speaks truth, that husband of mine.

It goes a little deeper than that. What is blohging, indeed, but showing and telling the rest of the internet what makes us… us? Who am I, what do I have to share, which people will read and ponder what I have to contribute?

As a Millennial (a person born between around 1980-2000), community is important to me. We were raised in a world of group work in school, friends in free time, and perhaps most poignantly, the era of the almighty social media. We spend a great amount of time tossing pebbles out into the internet, waiting just behind a screen to see whether our tiny contribution has made a difference.

Perhaps that’s another Millennial characteristic: the desire to be unique, important, needed. We were all given blue ribbons growing up, and told that we are special just for being us.

While there are obvious problems to this as we enter the work force, the aspect I want to highlight is this: we do the social media thing in hopes that someone will notice us, and give us attention. At least, that’s the way I’ve seen it. It’s the way I’ve been in the past, and still am, on some level.

So what’s the conclusion to all this? I don’t know. I don’t have one, at least, not yet. For me, blogging is a fun way to share and interact with other people… and yes, it’s also an opportunity to play show-and-tell to a class that is always interested. Or, at least, is somewhat interested.

So join me as I embark on my first full year of blogging. We can all continue to grow and learn and figure this thing called life out together. I hope to see you on the other side of 2015! God bless!

Leave a Reply

