Creativity · NaNoWriMo

Nanowrimo Challenges & Ambitions

I think I just realized why Nanowrimo has been so difficult for me: this novel is much harder than my past ones, and for a couple of reasons.

I’m demanding a lot more from this novel. I’m using dual main characters, differing points of view, and writing outside of my comfort zone. So it’s no big surprise that I haven’t written as well, or as quickly, or as much as I usually do.

Acknowledging my challenges makes me feel better about where I am… but I am still further behind than I’d like to be.

What are your biggest challenges for Nanpwrimo this year? Are you doing anything differently than you usually do, and how’s that going for you?

Share your tips for getting through the mid-month slump and to the end of November. Happy writing, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Nanowrimo Challenges & Ambitions

  1. I understand your problem too well. I have discovered thoughts flitter through my head but when commit them to paper I leave out too many details. I am deliberately slowing down to try and make every word count, as in mean something, push the story forward. Though I will be glad when the month is done.

    Like

  2. It’s my first time doing NaNoWriMo and I took a couple of days off from writing and it totally showed. I lost touch to my story and had to re-read a lot to get back into it. Also, I didn’t plot or plan much before delving into it, and I think it would’ve helped to have some pointers rather than just making it up as I go along, because inspiration unfortunately isn’t around every corner. But I am still not giving up! I’m a bit behind on my word count, but I’m still hopeful that I’ll finish it 🙂
    I wish you good luck with your novel and happy writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

