NaNoWriMo · ROW80

ROW80 Check-in: Panic Mode = Comeback Kid

Okay, maybe “panic” is a bit too strong of a word to use in this situation, but… it’s in the ballpark. I had a very close friend arrive in town this weekend, and blew three whole days doing very little besides hang out with the friend and the family… and now I’m paying for it. My novel is sitting at around 12,000 words, which means I have 38,000 words to finish by November. And Lordy, it’s the 12th. How did it become the 12th? I’ve never – in my whole Nanowrimo experience – been this far behind on a word count before. I have 12 “free” days (read “no travel and no family obligations” days) left in the month… which calculates out to be a tad over 3,000 words a day. And don’t get me wrong, some days I’m a ninja and can crank out a couple thousand without breaking a sweat… but then there are the days when I just can’t focus enough to sit down and  write.

BUT I HAVE NOT FAILED BEFORE!

This will not be the year I back down. I will not fail. So hang on tight, ladies and gentlemen. I’m about to be that Comeback Kid. And it will be AWESOME.

Meanwhile, I have more obligations to fulfill, so I apologize for temporarily neglecting this blog. I will get it back on its feet by Monday.

I think.

Thanks for stopping by, and happy writing, everyone!

4 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in: Panic Mode = Comeback Kid

  1. I think spending time with family and (especially) someone you don’t get see often is super important. Even more important than writing. [insert gasp here]

    But, it sounds like you have it under control. Keep up the good work and I hope it all works out in the end!

    Like

  2. Hope you had a good time with your friend and family. Sometimes that does have to come first.

    Hope you can get caught up to where you want to be, and even if you don’t, it’s okay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

